Mystery House



The Monday Update, A Study in Fast and Slow

I’m known to be a woman of extremes, not one who deals well with the middle ground.  This means I tend to do things which seem contradictory–all the time.  When it comes to working on projects, this means that I’m either working very quickly or very slowly.  Both extremes were strutting their stuff this weekend.

Fast…

The Opal sock.  I’m already this far along:

This yarn isn’t as soft as either Jitterbug or STR, but it’s not objectionably scratchy, either.  It and I are getting along just fine, and I’d certainly use Opal again.  I love the way the stripes are knitting up.

Slow…

This little piece may not look like much, but to me, it represents big progress:

It’s an element of an art piece I’ve been picking away at for nearly five years.  The knitted scrap is lying on top of some of the other parts of the piece, none of which have been put together yet.  I put something in place, leave it there for a few months, then change my mind and try something else.  (There are nailholes in the wood where I attached things and then unattached them–gotta do something about that.)  This is the first time I’ve tried incorporating knitting into an art piece, and so far, I’m not displeased.  Yes, it’s supposed to look like that–irregular and wobbly, sort of like a spiderweb.  I used the biggest needles I have, size 17, and an odd little yarn I found on sale at an upscale yarn boutique which closed in about 1986 or 1987.  (I remember a couple of my knitting buddies and I descending on the going-out-of-business sale like starving vultures.)  Melrose Fleecette.  It’s a wool/rayon blend, and as far as I can tell it’s not being made anymore.  I haven’t cracked a skein of it until now–does this give you a clue to how old some of my stash is?

Also slow…

I felted my purse, and it’s blocking over one of those plastic files you put magazines in, propped up on towels.  A Rube Goldberg setup if I’ve ever put one together.  It took forever to felt this piece–about five wash cycles!  This is not a good project for anyone who lives in the Southwest, where you have to be careful about how much water you use.  Still several steps to go with this project, but this may be the last time you see it for awhile.  I’m going into Stealth Mode.

Even slower…

That tablerunner I keep promising myself I’ll have done for Easter?  Not a chance.  I’m going to rip out about half of it.  Again.  Won’t be happy until I get the shaping exactly right.  I’ll have to put a bowl of Peeps on the table instead.

Dead standstill…

Consider this my moment in the knitter’s confessional.  I still haven’t finished Dr. Evil’s sweater, and the KAL has ended without me.  But I haven’t forgotten about it!  It will be finished before the slow flies again next year.

Also at a dead standstill…

My Malabrigo scarf.  Not sure why.  I like this project and I adore the yarn but I keep setting it aside in favor of other things.  Okay, now I’m feeling guilty.  I’ll have to do a few rows on it tonight.

Slow is in the lead this week.  I could use a few more fast projects to make me feel like I’m getting something done.  How important is that feeling of doneness?  I wrestle with it often, as I see stash and materials and ideas stacking up around me.  Seems impossible to keep up, much less get ahead.  Am I the only one?

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Birdie says:

    Gorgeous work, Miss T! (Thanks for stopping by my crazy site.)
    I am a big knitter, so I am going to make your home here a regular stop on my daily journey. I look forward to drifting through your archives. 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Well, you have progress, so that’s good! 🙂 The Opal softens up when washed.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Well, you have progress, so that’s good! 🙂 The Opal softens up when washed.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Hanne says:

    I have to finish something every once a while, otherwise I’m not happy. If I have big projects I usually start something little which I can finish in day or two. It’s a good way to get knitting mojo back.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * JulieFrick says:

    Well, considering the number of projects you’ve got going, I’d say you were doing great! You’d have to be some sort of octopus to make serious progress on such an ambitious list!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * JulieFrick says:

    Well, considering the number of projects you’ve got going, I’d say you were doing great! You’d have to be some sort of octopus to make serious progress on such an ambitious list!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

