Mystery House



Where Will All the Sweaters Go?

It finally feels like spring.  The birds are chirping, the grass is sprouting, the dog’s outside finding mud to dig in and it’s time for all heavy woolen handknits to take their seasonal nap tucked safely away in the cedar chest.

Just one problem.

This is the cedar chest after I put some sweaters in it yesterday:

And these are the shawls, sweaters and scarves that still need to fit in there:

Truly, this is one of those problems that’s easy to forget while the winter knits are being worn.  I certainly forgot about it this year.  Not only did I forget it, I added to it.  There are several new pieces in that pile.

Logical sorts like the Master Engineer can always come up with easy solutions.  “It’s full.  Stop knitting.”

Silly muggle.  We know that’s not happening.  After all, I have a stash to use up, don’t I?  (A continuously augmented stash, but we won’t mention that right now.)

Actually, he was joking.  But the cedar chest really is full.  That chest contains much of my knitting history.  It even holds a few pieces knit by my mother and grandmother, plus some worthy non-knits like my wedding dress.  I can’t cast those things out into the mothridden wilderness.  But what am I going to do with all this stuff, short of buying another cedar chest (and then finding a place to put it)?

Anyone else out-knit your storage capacity?  What did you do about it?

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    Hmmm…plastic bins with the round cedar balls in them? I don’t tend to actually pack away my handknits for the summer. I know…Bad Knitter!

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    I don’t really put my stuff away, either… Lot of help we are, eh?!

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Kelly says:

    Yeah…I’m another one that doesn’t really pack away my handknits. Bad. Maybe those vacuum bags, Space Bags? I’ve used them for my stash, and they worked fairly well, except I got too lazy to re-vacuum them every time I opened one.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Hanne says:

    We live in a apartment house, so I put all winter clothes in plastic bags and carry them to our storage downstairs. Ugly, acrylic store bougth-things of course, my own work can stay. Luckily summer clothes don’t require much space.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Hanne says:

    We live in a apartment house, so I put all winter clothes in plastic bags and carry them to our storage downstairs. Ugly, acrylic store bougth-things of course, my own work can stay. Luckily summer clothes don’t require much space.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Kelli says:

    I would love to have the chest! Sadly, I have so few handknits for myself, that I have yet to out-knit my storage. (meaning I have a small “chest” at the end of my bed and a plastic sweater bin that has one sweater in it)

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Kirsten says:

    We are overflowing everywhere, the sock drawer, the hat-scarf-mitten basket, the sweater drawers. I wish I had a solution. The biggest problem is that my ever growing stash is taking up much of my storage space.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Kirsten says:

    We are overflowing everywhere, the sock drawer, the hat-scarf-mitten basket, the sweater drawers. I wish I had a solution. The biggest problem is that my ever growing stash is taking up much of my storage space.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  9. Try those “Space Bags” that you suck all the air out of and they shrink down to nothing. All your sweaters in one little sandwich bag. It’s a miracle!

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  10. I know that you said you didn’t want another chest… but that’s probably what I would do, get another one to store the heirlooms/keepsakes. And keep the other for seasonal storage. If you get Space Bags, I’d love to know how they work out.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  11. I know that you said you didn’t want another chest… but that’s probably what I would do, get another one to store the heirlooms/keepsakes. And keep the other for seasonal storage. If you get Space Bags, I’d love to know how they work out.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

