Mystery House



Horror #3: A Knitting Injury

Knitting?  Dangerous?  Oh yes, very dangerous in the right hands.

I’m not talking about sore muscles or strained eyesight or repetitive stress injuries.  No, if one is talented at wounding oneself, it’s possible to come up with a previously unheard of knitting injury.  Yours truly is just such a talented and creative sort.

Here’s how it went:  Friday afternoon I decided to knit a few rows on my sock while watching the local news.  All went quite well until the phone rang.  While launching myself from the sofa to go and grab it, I somehow managed to get tangled in my yarn, and trip and stab myself with a dpn in both my right calf and that little spot between the first two toes on my left foot.  Simultaneously.  Two injuries with one needle!  Only a skilled and experienced klutz can do that, and my klutzitude is well-known to be of Olympic quality.

The guilty needle, post-stabbing (it’s a size 2, in case anyone’s checking):

I may have sounded a bit distressed when I answered the phone.  Wounds! Blood!  Imminent bruising!  A bent dpn!

Being good at hurting myself, I’m used to blood and bruises.  I might carry on about it at the time but really, I expect these things to occur regularly.  My primary worry was the fate of my sock.  I was wearing my new Jitterbug socks when this happened and the needle went right through one of them.  If I tore those socks a week after finishing them, all hell was going to break loose.  I mean, drama.

After a quick and breathless, “Hello? Hang on!” I put down the phone, wrapped my toes in a tissue and performed a sock inspection.

It was okay.  My sock is fine!

That bent dpn?  It’s fixed.  The Magical Repairer of All Things took care of it when he got home.  Worried that I might continue injuring myself and destroying property (often one of these productions of mine is a harbinger of more to come), I put my Jitterbugs back in the drawer where they’d be safe and spent the rest of the evening with my bandaged toes tucked into an old pair of the Repairer’s socks.  And I worked on a much less risky project:  I finished knitting the body of my to-be-felted purse, with some very non-threatening Addi Turbos.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    See? More evidence that phones are evil and should be ignored.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    Remember – you were MUCH too busy to answer that phone in the first place! Hope your injuries heal fast!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    Remember – you were MUCH too busy to answer that phone in the first place! Hope your injuries heal fast!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. Oww!! I’ve heard of DPN injuries, but have not yet had one. I will-I’m a KLUTZ. I’m really scared of my Knit Picks pointy needles. I see one someday sticking out of my thigh after I’ve unceremoniously dropped my body onto it.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. Ouch…it hurt just reading your story. I have yet to experience a knitting injury, but I’m sure there’s one in my future. I see a Knit Picks Pointy needle (hopefull a #1 or #2 only) stabbing me in the thigh or butt, after I’ve unceremoniously dropped my body onto it.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

