Mystery House



Pool, Baby, Pool


Yarn:  Colinette Jitterbug, in Bright Charcoal, a gift from the very cool Amy
Pattern:  The one that’s printed on the yarn label

My feet look enormous in this photo, but my socks are done, and I wore them all weekend!

They were comfortable inside, not too warm but just warm enough, making my notoriously fussy feet–the ones that scream about being too cold one minute and too hot the next–happy.  They turned up the thermostat and kept my toes toasty while we shoveled the foot of snow that fell Saturday night.  They made my feet look exotic and special as I lounged on the sofa after shoveling, wrapped in a purple and black shawl and reading a good book and sipping an excellent martini.  They even traversed the floors of our house without picking up much dog hair.  These socks are magic.

“Ack,” you might be saying, “there’s color pooling and she did nothing to stop it!”

Yes, there is, and no, I didn’t.

Truly, I can’t understand all the fuss about color pooling.  I love it.  It’s like the yarn has a secret plan which it reveals only as you knit it up, and if you follow along and don’t make a fuss it will show you beautiful patterns you wouldn’t have devised on your own.

I admit, I’ve always had a deeply asymmetrical nature.  Making certain things match exactly isn’t as important to me as it is to many people.  Okay, yes, there are times when matching counts.  Car tires should match so that you don’t wobble all over the road and have an accident.  If I’m making little individual cheesecakes for a dinner party, they should match in size so they bake for the same length of time and nobody pouts because somebody else got a bigger dessert.  There should be a reason why things have to match, in other words.  Not simply “because.”

Socks made with handpainted yarns do not have to match.  I think they’re more exciting if they don’t.  In fact, I see color pooling and the creation of gorgeously unmatched objects as the whole point of handpainted yarn.  Funky, asymmetrical socks give me something to think about.  I’m fascinated by the way the patterns change as the colors move around the sock.  I get ideas from random patterns like that, whereas ideas rarely flow from perfectly symmetrical arrangements.  You look once and it looks lovely and that’s pretty much the end of it, at least in terms of inspiration.  I want more color pooling, not less.

I also want more socks.  And fast, so I don’t wear these out.

Clearly this is an emergency situation.  To remedy it, I’ve begun swatching for the next pair.

That’s Socks That Rock in Fire on the Mountain.  (Please excuse the mess on my desk, I’m working here!)  I’m trying to get the proper gauge for the Jaywalker socks.  This STR had better be good, because it’s got Jitterbug to answer to.  I loved working with that yarn, and it’s marvelous to wear.  I am so sneaking to the Jitterbug shelf in the yarn shop every chance I get.

More socks!  More pooling!  Whee!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb says:

    They are beautiful indeed and I agree with the whole concept of pooling – bring it on. You’ve made me think about the Jitterbig stash downstairs. My daughter will be home all week with chickenpox and maybe it’s time for a mindless pair of socks to while away my time at home…..

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Micki says:

    Great socks! The pooling doesn’t look bad at all to me.
    I agree with you about letting handpainted yarns be what they are, although it’s sometimes hard to remind myself while I’m actually knitting.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Micki says:

    Great socks! The pooling doesn’t look bad at all to me.
    I agree with you about letting handpainted yarns be what they are, although it’s sometimes hard to remind myself while I’m actually knitting.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Micki says:

    Great socks! The pooling doesn’t look bad at all to me.
    I agree with you about letting handpainted yarns be what they are, although it’s sometimes hard to remind myself while I’m actually knitting.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Bronach says:

    Wow! I was just wondering what the Fire on the Mountain colorway would look like knitted up. Now I know! Awesome!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Bronach says:

    Wow! I was just wondering what the Fire on the Mountain colorway would look like knitted up. Now I know! Awesome!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Ragan says:

    ooooo….
    I agree, pooling can be a good thing. I have had to frog a pair that didn’t come out good…but on the whole..I like the effect! Nice colorway!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Connie says:

    Your socks look great!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Connie says:

    Your socks look great!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Dan Vera says:

    Hmm…. this is more inspiring than you know.
    I gave a friend a few skeins of sock yarn when he offered to make me a pair. Needless to say we had a falling out and the skeins and socks evaporated.
    But I’ve been wanting to have another go at another pair of socks. Hmm…
    These looks lovely!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  11. * Dan Vera says:

    Hmm…. this is more inspiring than you know.
    I gave a friend a few skeins of sock yarn when he offered to make me a pair. Needless to say we had a falling out and the skeins and socks evaporated.
    But I’ve been wanting to have another go at another pair of socks. Hmm…
    These looks lovely!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Tonni says:

    Your new socks look wonderfully warm 🙂 Pooling makes the knit more exciting – you never know what you will get until you finish.
    Are you loving the STR yarn?! I do…
    Handknit socks are the only kind work place-friendly… they keep my normally freezing feet toasty warm!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  13. * Maggie says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! I kinda like it when the yarn pools. I figure, the yarn’s handmade, the socks are handmade, who cares? If I wanted perfect matching socks I would buy them at Walmart.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  14. * Maggie says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! I kinda like it when the yarn pools. I figure, the yarn’s handmade, the socks are handmade, who cares? If I wanted perfect matching socks I would buy them at Walmart.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

