Mystery House



Arf! (Translation: Finally!)

I admit it.  I’ve been slow about starting something for the Knit Your Dog a Sweater knitalong.  I didn’t forget (really).  I was simply much more into the “it’s all about me!” spirit of the To Me From Me knitalong.

The littlest member of the Mystery House has been looking impatient and put-upon.  In fact, I can hear him outside right now, informing the entire neighborhood just how tough his life is and what a terrible mom I am because he doesn’t have a sweater.  Of course, once we put the sweater on him he’ll think it’s the enemy and launch an immediate attack on it, but still.  He doesn’t want to be left out of the knitting.

So this, Dr. Evil, is for you:


A gauge swatch.  Are you happy now?  I promise, this will turn into an actual sweater very soon.  Carrie just issued a warning reminder that only five and a half weeks are left to finish something, so here I go.  Nothing like a deadline to get me moving.

I’m using stash yarn for this sweater.  That should count for extra brownie points, shouldn’t it?  I wanted something easily washable, so that I won’t be tempted to sell the Master of Mud Puddles for three cents when he comes in with his sweater all filthy.  So I dug around until I unearthed a navy blue acrylic/wool blend.  This yarn has been deep in my stash for a long time.  How long?   Well, in the fine print on the label it says “Made by Dinosaurs in Belgium exclusively for Reynolds Yarn, Inc.”  I didn’t know dinosaurs could operate spinning machines, but hey, you learn something every day.

Fortunately, the pattern for the Basic Hound Hoodie (I love that name) should be a quick knit, so our little guy will be rocketing around in his sweater well before global warming brings those yarn-spinning dinosaurs back.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb says:

    Does the hoodie have pockets so he can walk around looking like a little doggie “gangsta” like I accuse my 10-year daughter of looking every day she goes off to Catholic school in her hoodie? Oh, was that out loud…sorry.

    Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    Good job on starting the dog sweater! I too went for washable yarn, good choice.

    Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Carrie says:

    Good job on starting the dog sweater! I too went for washable yarn, good choice.

    Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    That sweater is just too much! I just don’t get the dog sweater thing – of course I have never owned a small dog – mine have always been around 100 lbs. and LOVE rolling and plowing through the snow! I wonder how much yarn I would use for such a thing? I can’t wait to see your dog in his attire.

    Posted 10 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

