Mystery House



A Little Bit of Neapolitan

Neapolitan ice cream was something special when I was growing up.  We didn’t have it all that often even though there was always ice cream of one sort or another in the freezer.  The layers of colors and the mix of flavors were exotic and grown up and alluring.  Brach’s Neapolitans had an aura of mystery about them, too.  Glistening in their crackly cellophane wrappers, they could be found downtown at Kresge’s, which was a Saturday excursion, not a during-the-week trip.  They made it into the bag with Mom’s bridge mix only rarely, so they remained an aloof object of candy lust, ever so much more oddly scrumptious because they tasted nothing like the ice cream at all; they’re actually coconut flavored.  And those colors?  Irresistible.

I can be persistent when I see something I want.  Stubborn even.  (That slight tremor you may feel is the shifting of the earth caused by all my relatives and friends nodding their heads in unison.)  So when I heard that Trekking XXL #126, the yarn which when knit up looks just like Brach’s Neapolitan candies, was discontinued, I didn’t assume I couldn’t get any.  It would just be more of a challenge.  I mean, I had to have this yarn.  HadTo.

Reveling in such challenges as I do, I looked everywhere:  local yarn shops, Ebay and I don’t know how many yarn shops online.  And found exactly nothing.  But one last bit of Googling turned up a glimmer of hope.  Mountain Shadow Ranch had recently sold some on Ebay.  There wasn’t a current auction, which was why I hadn’t run across the listing on Ebay, but it was a recent sale….so how did she get it?  Emailing furiously, I contacted Teresa at Mountain Shadow to see if perhaps there might be another ball or two lurking in a forgotten corner of the ranch.  I also went right to the source and got in touch with Skacel.

Turns out I wasn’t the only desperate knitter the powers-that-be at Skacel heard from regarding #126.  A very nice woman named Sue wrote back and told me they’ve had so many requests that Mr. Zitron, the manufacturer of Trekking, decided it would be worth reissuing.  It’s been un-discontinued!

Two balls of #126 are now in my knitting bag, and I feel ever so much better.  One ball is enough for a pair of socks, but I have more than one pair of socks in mind for this yarn.  It’s just too, too cute.

If you want your feet to look like Neapolitan candies, all you have to do is ask your LYS to order it.  Or you can look for one of Mountain Shadow Ranch’s auctions on Ebay–she ships at light speed, believe me.  Thing is, most yarn shops don’t seem to know that #126 is back yet.  Let’s tell them!  So they’ll order it!  So Skacel will be overwhelmed with knitterly love for #126 and keep it in production!   After all, a little bit of Neapolitan is never quite enough.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bjorn says:

    Now that is some luverly sock yarn.

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Bjorn says:

    Now that is some luverly sock yarn.

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    Now why on earth did you feel the need to make this post!!! I am REALLY trying to resist buying any more sock yarn!! I love that candy!

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    Ah, neopolitan. The good old days. I too have some neopolitan sock yarn…can’t remember the brand offhand. Very nice, though.

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

