Mystery House



Finishing

I can’t be the only one who has a love/hate relationship with finishing.  I love that feeling of completion, knowing that the end is in sight and all I have to do is sprint.  As for the process, seaming’s fine; I can live with sewing seams, even Kitchener stitch when I’m in the mood.  But weaving in ends?  Blech.  Might even exceed the Second Sleeve on the pestiness scale.

Mom’s fingerless gloves are done.  I can show them to you before Christmas because she doesn’t have a computer, much less internet service.  (No, she’s not poor and downtrodden and in need of assistance.  She doesn’t want a computer.  Won’t touch one.)

All those squiggly bits of yarn I haven’t woven in?  Well, my favorite way to get finishing done is to sit down in the afternoon, preferably on a day when some helpful sunlight is coming in the windows, turn on either a good movie or something amusingly trashy on TV and hunker down.  I don’t leave the sofa till it’s done.  People are not supposed to bug me.  Dogs aren’t supposed to bug me, either.  Not even cute, larcenous dogs.

Note stolen comb.  No, we didn’t let him keep it.

It’s cloudy today and I’ve got work to do.  So finishing and blocking these gloves will have to wait.  I’ve still got a week…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Wow, Maxwell has gotten big! I remember when he was just a little handful!
    And I’m with you on the finishing. Yuck.

    Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

