Mystery House



Christmas Meme

I ran across this Christmas meme on Carole’s blog, and decided to consider myself tagged.  Please do the same, if you’re in the mood.  I’d love to know what your traditions are.

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
Hot chocolate!  Egg nog!  Mulled wine!  Oh, wait, that wasn’t a choice. 

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?
Santa wraps gifts for our stockings. 

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?
Colored lights on the tree, blue lights on the house.  White lights inside if I could find them.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
No.

5. When do you put up your decorations?
The tree went up early this year, right after Thanksgiving.  Usually it’s a couple weeks later.  Decorations….I’m so bad about this.  Every year I intend to do more decorating.  Every year I don’t have time.  I’m determined this year, even though I have less time than ever.  Of course they’re not up yet because I’m still making them.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish?
Gingerbread cookies.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child?
On Christmas Eve, the exquisite torture of waiting until all the dinner dishes were done and put away and we could finally open our gifts.  I think my dad dragged the cleanup out on purpose.  A lot of package-rattling went on in the meantime.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
First grade, I think.  A pox on the kid who told me! 

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
All our gifts get opened on Christmas Eve, except the ones that appear in the stockings the next morning, from Santa.  (I still think that bad first grader was wrong.)
 
10. What kind of decorations are on your Christmas Tree?
A little of everything.  Old glass ornaments my family had when I was growing up.  Dorkily charming ones I made in grade school.  My husband’s favorites that he’s had for years.  And every year we buy a new one together.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread?
Love to look at it.  Don’t love slogging through it and driving or walking on ice.

12. Can you ice skate?
Ha!  Not a chance.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?
From way back when, no.  But my favorite gifts from recent years are the ones my husband’s made for me.  He refuses to admit he has a lot of artistic talent, but he’s made me some sculptural pieces I would have paid money for in a gallery.  I know he’s up to something in his workshop this year and I can’t wait to see what it is.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?
The fact that I love Christmas again.  I went through a period of quite a few years when I didn’t like it and going through the motions made me sad.  Now I love it, and even though it’s a ton of work and I never have enough time to finish everything I plan to do, I enjoy all the gift making and cookie baking and menu planning and cooking and seeing family.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?
Christmas cookies. 

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
Christmas Eve dinner and opening gifts with the family.

17. What tops your tree?
Um, nothing.  We haven’t ever found a topper we like.

18. What is your favorite holiday book?
Truman Capote’s A Christmas Memory.  There’s also a story from childhood I really love, “Granny Glittens and Her Amazing Mittens.”  I don’t know who wrote it.  It’s about a woman who wants to knit a bunch of mittens but she only has white yarn.  So she melts peppermints and lemon drops and all kinds of other candy to dye the yarn. 

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?
Not exactly the usual definition of a Christmas song, but the Hallelujah chorus from The Messiah is hard to beat.

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yummy?
Yum.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carole says:

    Great job. I enjoyed reading about your Christmas feelings and traditions. And I agree about the Hallelujah Chorus!

    Posted 10 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

