Mystery House



My Answers

There’s been so much going on to get ready for our Thanksgiving guests that I haven’t yet answered my own questions.  So here goes:

1.  Which do you like better:  Cooking at your house, or going elsewhere?  Cooking at home, definitely.  Otherwise there are no leftovers, and I might have to make a second Thanksgiving dinner to compensate! 

2.  Do you buy a fresh or frozen bird?  Fresh.  I refuse to deal with all the nonsense it takes to safely thaw something that’s bigger than our dog.

3.  What kind of stuffing?  Cornbread.

4.  Sweet potato or pumpkin pie?  Sweet potato, of course.  The secret is that it beats pumpkin at its own game by a mile, and once you try it you can’t go back.

5.  Do you believe that turkey leftovers are a curse, or the point of the whole thing?  Leftovers are definitely the point.  I wait all year for those leftovers.

6.  What side dish would provoke a riot if you left it off the menu?  Hmm.  Probably the stuffing.  And heaven forbid if I don’t make gravy, and lots of it. 

7.  Do you save the carcass to make soup or stock?  Yes, despite the odd looks I get when I snatch the carcass after dinner and scuttle away to hide it in the freezer, everybody seems happy when I bring it out weeks later to make soup.

8.  What do you wish you had that would make preparing Thanksgiving dinner easier?  A second oven!

9.  Do you get up at the crack of dawn to have dinner ready in the early afternoon, or do you eat at your normal dinner hour?  No way am I getting up at 5 a.m. to wrestle with an 18 pound, cold, naked bird.  Folks here eat at our normal dinner hour, or they can go to a restaurant.

10.  If you go to somebody else’s house, what’s your favorite dish to bring?  Pie.  Sweet potato, of course.

11.  What do you wish one of your guests wouldn’t bring to your house?  Haven’t had this problem.  Our guests tend to be either great cooks or non-cooks. 

12.  Does your usual mix of guests result in drama, or is it a group you’re happy to see?  Usually, it’s a group I’m happy to see.  Hopefully there will be no drama with this year’s assortment.

13.  What’s your absolute favorite thing on the menu?  Turkey!

