Mystery House



You Can’t Really Have Too Many, But, Um…


This is one small section of the bookcases in my office.  (I suppose I should do something about that dust.)  If my office were the only room in the Mystery House that looked like this, there wouldn’t be a problem.  But similar pictures could be taken in the Master Engineer’s office, too, as well as in two spare bedrooms, the den, the basement and even (although they’re in boxes), the garage.  The only one who isn’t worried about this is Dr. Evil.  He doesn’t care unless we pile books on the floor, which by treaty right belongs to him and his stuffed animals.

A substantial number of these books have not been read, meaning that while many people have a TBR pile, we have a TBR house.  Can you blame me for jumping at the From the Stacks Reading Challenge like a starving woman snatching sandwiches from a buffet?

I love this idea.  I’ve signed up, and if your house looks remotely like mine, perhaps you should consider it, too.  Here’s what I’m planning to read:

Painting in the Dark, by Russell James

Headlong, by Michael Frayn

One Writer’s Beginnings, by Eudora Welty

A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian, by Marina Lewycka

Spook, by Mary Roach

And a bonus selection, if I get that far:

Suder, by Percival Everett

All I can say to the organizers of this readalong is, “Brilliant!”

