Mystery House



The Resurrection Project

Wait, now.  Don’t worry.  It won’t all be death and gloom at the Mystery House.  Today is a day for renewal, for that clean feeling which comes with the spending of creative energy.  So pull up a chair and watch.  I’m fixin’ to perform a resurrection:

No, that’s not a late Halloween costume for my finger.  It’s one of four holes contributed to a triangular garter stitch shawl by some sinister moth.

My first impulse, when I unearthed this piece from the (not to be disclosed) location where it had been so brutally attacked by the moth, was to try to sew up the holes.  I’m skeptical about how such a repair might look, however, particularly since I don’t think I have any of the original yarn left.  It was one big skein of handpainted wool, and I made the shawl by casting on one stitch and continuing to increase every other row until I had just a wee bit of yarn left for tassels.

This needed a better idea, something that would not only fix the holes but elevate the shawl beyond its original, humble design.  Something that would be fun to do rather than feeling like a chore.

Something like…shibori.

Stay tuned and wish me luck!

 

