Mystery House



Just Like Lipstick



A new lipstick has the power to change your life, if only for a few minutes.  But the reality is that the newestgreatestmostfabulous color you just bought is precisely the same shade as sixteen others you already have, but with a different name.

That wouldn’t happen with yarn, though, right?

I recently happened upon some hand dyed alpaca (in a very odd location, but that’s another story).  Several yummy colors to choose from, but with the input of the Master Engineer (“This one looks great on you!” coupled with that ooh-la-la hand on my back), I talked myself into this and bought two skeins:

During the 1200 mile drive home, something nagged at me. Should have bought the pink instead?  Or the pale mauve?  I wasn’t in the mood for orange, but maybe orange would have been better anyway.  A quick review of my stash yesterday revealed the reason for that cranky little voice in my head:

Yes, I have six different kinds of yarn in that very same color.  And now that I think about it, there’s at least one more hidden somewhere…

Am I the only one who does this?  Please tell me your redundant color stories–I’d love to hear them.  But I am so not showing you a photo of my nail polish collection.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Heh. Boy, can I relate. I’m trying REALLY hard to break out of the color rut. But like you, most of my yarn and lipsticks look the same.

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    I LOVE that color and I do believe that it would lovely on you! I am drawn to blues and reddish browns – I tend to wear a lot of this compination as well. At least you know that anything you knit will match the rest of your wardrobe.

    Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  3. * count sassy says:

    Yeah, I just counted 7 different kinds of yarn in Aquamarine in my stash – I have at least 3 garments (wait, 4) in my closet in that color, too.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Kate A. says:

    Oh, no, you’re not crazy. It’s just that deep red has the power to hypnotize unsuspecting knitters (and their significant others). I’ve frequently observed this same phenomenon, and am absolutely certain that it’s not MY fault that I have half a closet full of deep red yarn. It’s a universal phenomenon far beyond our control. (Besides, I don’t know about you, but whatever knit with my deep-red yarn is bound to go well with the 20 little black tops, 5 pairs of black pants, 6 black skirts and 3 little black dresses that are in the other closet…)

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Ariel says:

    Hee – I’ve done exactly the same thing with orange yarn. I like to think it just means I know what I like (even when I don’t know what I’ve already got in the stash).

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  6. * alyse says:

    I am coming in a little late here, but yeah I have a penchant for certain colors and a terrible memory for what is in my stash.
    Results (just one example):
    I wash shopping online at knitpicks for some yarn to make mitts for a friend of mine. While browsing I ran across some yarn I JUST HAD TO HAVE, wonderful color and perfect weight for a project I had in mind etc. I bought the yarn for the mitts and the other yarn because I JUST HAD TO HAVE IT!!
    Well as you can guess from context not only did I have it all ready – the the RL color wasn’t the same as the screen. I had bought it and tucked into the back of my stash because IRL the color wasn’t nearly as cool.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. * alyse says:

    I am coming in a little late here, but yeah I have a penchant for certain colors and a terrible memory for what is in my stash.
    Results (just one example):
    I wash shopping online at knitpicks for some yarn to make mitts for a friend of mine. While browsing I ran across some yarn I JUST HAD TO HAVE, wonderful color and perfect weight for a project I had in mind etc. I bought the yarn for the mitts and the other yarn because I JUST HAD TO HAVE IT!!
    Well as you can guess from context not only did I have it all ready – the the RL color wasn’t the same as the screen. I had bought it and tucked into the back of my stash because IRL the color wasn’t nearly as cool.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

