Mystery House



Bourbon Pork Chops

This was one of those recipes that worked, even though it didn’t work.  If you know what I mean.  Great sauce, cooking method that didn’t quite cut it.  I was surprised by that, because this is the first time I’ve tried a recipe from the folks at Cook’s Illustrated that wasn’t completely foolproof.  Ah well.  We all make boo-boos, yes?

All that hoohah about brief cooking times and resting and such really didn’t cook the chops properly.  Dubious, we did it anyway for the sake of trying the recipe, and because we had already marinated the chops and they would have burned if we’d broiled them at that point, because of the sugar in the marinade.

The result:  Delicious sauce, undercooked chops and a lot of carrying on.  This could be done so much more easily.  Next time, no marinating.  We’ll grill or broil the chops, and cook the sauce separately.  I think it will be better that way.  I’m going to post this now and run, lest the wrath of Christopher Kimball descend upon me….

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Beware the Kimball.

    Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Lorette says:

    I think it might be illegal to disagree with Kimball. I know pork chops undercooked are safe, and that they are much more tender that way, but I can’t get my head around rare pork.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

