Mystery House



It’s Done!

I just love starting Monday with an FO, particularly one that I’ve been itching to finish.  After having to rip back and reknit the sleeves post-blocking because I didn’t like the length, my Circumnavigated Cardigan is done.  Not done as in sitting in my finishing basket.  Done done.  Ends woven in, buttons sewn on.  Done as in I can wear it this week.

I know I’ve said it ‘leventy-squillion times, but I love this pattern.  It’s genius.  No seams, and it’s made precisely to your measurements, so it fits no matter what size you are.  If you haven’t knit this one, you definitely should.

It’s possible to modify this pattern in many different ways, but for this first one I followed it exactly so that I could see how it worked.  I may make one without pockets next time, or with a different style of cuff, and I’ll probably put in some waist shaping.  Who knows?  The only thing I know for sure is that I’m going to make another one as soon as I can.  (This statement is probably making the M.E. very worried, since he has asked for a pullover.  Fear not, my Sweetie, your sweater is next!)

Sewing on the buttons really made my day yesterday.  It was that final sprint to the end, which always feels great, plus I adore these buttons.

I found them at an antique show.  (There’s a closeup in this post.)  Just as I was saying to the M.E., I need buttons for my sweater and I have no idea what I want, I turned around and saw these.  I immediately snatched them up and bought them, and it turned out to be one of those all-too-rare times when the buttons actually turned out to work perfectly when they encountered the sweater.

Happy sigh.  All is well at the Mystery House, and I have a new sweater.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    The buttons are wonderful – what a great finish for the sweater! I have the pattern… one of these days I’ll get to it.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    Lovely!

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Kelle says:

    Beautiful sweater, love the buttons. I just finished a sweater, buttons and all last night too, finding the right buttons is challanging. I’m looking for good sweater patterns to knit, thanks for the recommendation.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    Beautiful! And soon you’ll be able to wear just it outside instead of a coat. Right? ;-)

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Connie says:

    Beautiful – love the yarn and the pattern!

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  6. * rudeek says:

    Bee-u-tee-ful. I love it–especially the color. Congratulations on a finished object.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Guinifer says:

    Lovely finishing!
    Thought I was going to see those sparkly buttons from yesterday!

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Michelle says:

    Cool! Can’t wait to see it on you.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  9. * Lorette says:

    Beautiful! I love the buttons, too.

    Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

