Mystery House



The Iron Chefettes.……..What Are We Doing Back So Soon?

Maxwell w Swiss Chard

Allez cuisine!

Time has just flown since my last Iron Chefettes post.  That’s because it was only a week ago, you say.  Well, yes.  But it still means we’re on a rapid countdown to the last CSA date of the season.  Who inhaled summer?

19 Sept 2009 CSA Box

This week’s box:  Blue potatoes, red leaf lettuce, hot wax pepper, Nardello and bell peppers, canteloupe, purple broccoli, cipollini onions, garlic, summer squash, tomatoes, carrots, basil, eggplant and fennel.  Amy and I both bought romanesco.  And I bought some rainbow Swiss chard.  Because it was pretty and I was dying for chard.

Here’s what happened with all that good stuff:

Pasta w Tomatos and Basil
Pasta with lots of cherry tomatoes, basil and parmesano reggiano.  Summer isn’t summer if I don’t make an uncooked sauce like this at least once.  There was a ton of flavor in those tomatoes, so this was very, very good.

Greek Salad
Greek salad for lunch one day, with tomatoes, cukes, lettuce, feta, olives and red onion.  Yum-o-rama.

Embarrassed Chicken
Amy’s right.  Chickens prepped to be cooked a la beer butt (in this case, hard cider butt) do look embarrassed before their trip to the grill.

But they calm down.  We served this one with romanesco, and baked onions steeped in red wine vinegar.  The romanesco was fabulous.  Like cauliflower but better.  Believe it — the M.E. isn’t wild about cauliflower, but he loved this.

Romanesco 1

Romanesco w Chicken

Watch for leftover baked onions to appear in more dishes down the line.  They’re really versatile.

Garlic Scallion Noodles w Broccoli
Okay, noodles don’t get much more outrageously delicious than this.  These are Jaden’s Garlic Scallion Noodles, with broccoli and grilled steak.  You have to try this recipe.  Have.  To. If there’s an Asian market in your area, it’s worth making the extra stop to buy the really thin egg noodles for this, the ones that come rolled up like little nests.

Chicken Fennel Salad

On we go to Chicken Salad with Fennel, Almonds and Lemon Mayo.  This came out of the CSA newsletter, and got a very enthusiastic reception here at Casa Mystery.  I’ll definitely make this again.

Joker Chard Gratin

This was better than it looks.  It’s a very nice potato and Swiss chard gratin, which looks as though it was prepared by the Joker simply because I used blue potatoes in it.  It didn’t taste like the Joker was anywhere near it, though.  It was actually quite good.

Steak Tostada w Two Salsas

After a tough day, the M.E. cooked a surprise dinner for me.  Oh, baby.  This was insanely good:  steak tostadas with two salsas.  He used tons of tomatoes and peppers, onions, avocado….I kept asking him to write down what he’d done, but he claimed to have been moving so fast that he didn’t remember.  So all we have is the photograph, and I sure hope it’s enough to reconstruct this again sometime.  Spoiled and pampered?  Why yes, I am.

Broccoli Potato Bacon Hash

Another not-so-pretty plate, but it tasted good.  Hash made with purple broccoli, Nardello and hot wax peppers, blue potatoes, bacon, and some of those very tasty baked onions.

Paprika Pepper & Squash Saute

Next to last but not least, this was a side made to accompany a dish so amazing that you’ll have to come back next Friday to read about it.  I’m only telling you about the side today, which was also delicious but didn’t have Dr. Evil patrolling in front of the grill like the other one did.  This was red bell pepper, summer squash, and more baked onions sauteed with lots and lots of paprika.  Yum.

Chicken w Bell Peppers & Cashews & Eggplant

After all that, I was ready for something with a little heat, and something that was a reminiscent of Chinese takeout, because we weren’t getting takeout that night, and I was kind of in the mood for it.  So I made a stir fry with chicken, eggplant, orange bell pepper, lots of scallions and some serious hot chiles.  It was based on a recipe for chicken with cashews, so of course it had cashews, too.  I deliberately made the sauce quite thick to give it that takeout allure.  The delicious aroma is still perfuming the house, the M.E. has some of the leftovers packed up for his lunchbox tomorrow, and I have the rest.  Bwaa ha haaaa!

That was it.  I have no idea what Amy’s been up to in her kitchen, but I do know that she’s as traumatized as I am by the impending end of market season.  I know, I know, we must be strong.  And this winter?  Well, we’ll do the best we can with — gak — supermarket vegetables.  The Iron Chefettes will not be defeated!  We’re cooking up something fun for the winter months, just you wait.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * kmkat says:

    You made two of my summer favorites — uncooked spaghetti sauce and the Greek salad. But everything looks delish!

    Posted 5 years ago
  2. * Amy Rea says:

    Oh, that hash looks amazing!

    Posted 5 years ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    Every single thing looks and sounds delicious! I wish I had your fondness for cooking because I know I have your fondness for good food!

    Posted 5 years ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    Ugh. YOu’re right, what’s almost as disgusting as eating a rotten tomato? Eating the first store-bought tomato of the season YICK!

    I love your chicken. He seems so prim and proper sitting there with hard cider up his butt.

    Posted 5 years ago
  5. * lisa peet says:

    That all made my mouth water. I love the shot of Dr. Evil turning disdainfully from the sight of chard.

    Posted 5 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

